Georgia Disability Claim Advocates

Getting Social Disability In Georgia

Georgia Disability Claim Advocates: If you are applying for social security disability in Georgia, you need to know more about the process. You should also know a bit about the approval rates and how long you would need to wait for an appeal hearing. It is also recommended that you know the costs associated with this and about the small state supplement.

Applying For Social Security Disability

When you apply for disability, it is a state agency who will make the initial decision. In Georgia, this agency is the Disability Adjudication Services or DAS. While your application will be filed with social security, it will be sent to this agency. They are also the agency that you should contact if you need more information about your application.

If DAS rejects your initial application, you can request a reconsideration review. This review will be done by the DAS and has a higher chance of success when compared to the national average. If this review ends in a rejection, you can request an appeal hearing.

The appeal hearing is not handled by DAS and your case will be sent to the Office of Hearing Operations. This is part of the federal SSA and there are a few offices across the state. During the appeal hearing, an administrative law judge will hear the case and make the final decision.

The Approval Statistics

Knowing the overall process of applying for disability in Georgia is important, but you might want to know what your chances of approval are. The approval rate for initial applications in the state is only 29% which is lower than the national average of 36%. If your initial application is declined, the state has a 12% approval rate for reconsideration reviews. This might seem low, but it is actually 1% higher than the national average.

When it comes to the appeal hearings, the approval rate is high at 60%. This is 5% higher than the national average of 55%. While this approval rate is high, you do have to wait more than 17 months on average before you have the hearing. This is on par with the national average of 18 months.

Cost Of Getting Medical Records

When you apply for disability, you need to provide medical records that support your application. Georgia has placed a limit on the amount you can be charged for copies of your medical records. The first 20 pages can be charged at $0.75 with pages 21 to 100 being charged at $0.65. For every page over 100, you can be charged $0.50. The medical provider can also charge a $20 preparation fee as well as a $7.50 fee to certify the records.

The State Supplement

While SSI payments are federal, Georgia offers a small state supplement for some residents. To be eligible for this, you will need to be living in a Medicaid facility. The supplement for a single person is $20 and for couples is $40. You do not have to apply for this separately.

Applying for disability in Georgia is similar to other states. However, you could be eligible for a small state supplement if you live in a Medicaid facility.

Disability News

At GAR Disability Advocates, we pride ourselves on being able to educate our clients by providing additional news and resources that may impact their claim.

View all news

Are You Eligible For Benefits?